

## **OFFICERS**

### **President:**

Terice Watts
118 W Central
Ave
Arkansas City, KS 67005
620.441.4420
twatts@arkansascityks.gov

## Vice-President

Holly
McGinnis 300
W Ash
Salina, KS 67401
785.309.5700
holly.mcginnis@salina.org

### **Secretary**

Melyn Bounous 17101 West 87<sup>th</sup> ST PKWY Lenexa, KS 66219 913.477.7520 mbounous@lenexa.com

## Treasurer

Stacie Stromberg 4800 Town Center DR. Leawood, KS 66211 913.663.9104 sstromberg@leawood.org

# **Award Recipients**

**2010 ~ Beth Ann Turner** City of Iola

**2012 ~ Susan Wettstein** City of Garnett

**2014 ~ De Nelson** City of Wichita

**2016** ~ Celyn Hurtado City of Garden City

**2018** ~ Cassie Johnson City of Lindsborg

**2019 ~ Brenda Long** City of Olathe

**2022 ~ Jennie Hiatt** City of Abilene

# Nancy Crain Municipal Administrative Professional of the Year Award

This award, previously known as the AAKC Municipal Administrative Assistant Award, was established in 2009. The purpose of this award is to recognize Administrative Assistants that contribute their skills to their profession and community, as well as their dedication to their municipalities.

The name of the award was changed in 2010 after Nancy Crain, one of the AAKC founding members, lost her courageous battle to cancer. Nancy was the most dedicated professional to Arkansas City. She was always willing to lend a helping hand and guide those that were new to the city form of government.

This award is one of the highest honors of any administrative professionals' career.

# Eligibility:

The nominee must be a member of AAKC for five (5) years prior to date of nomination and currently employed in an administrative, secretarial, clerical or related position for at least five (5) years with the same Kansas municipality.

# **Nominations:**

Nominations may be submitted by a city manager/administrator or supervisor. The nomination form should be completed and sent to the Chairperson of the Selection Committee by the end of February. The selection committee will judge the nominations and announce the winner at the Spring AAKC Conference. The award will be presented at the Kansas League of Municipalities Fall Conference.

# **Selection:**

A Selection Committee will review all nominations. The Selection Committee will consist of two (2) active AAKC members (President or designee & one member); one representative from the Hugo Wall School of Public Administration (Wichita State University); one representative from the League of Kansas Municipalities. The Selection Committee will be under the direction of the Professional Development committee chair.

# **Judging Standards:**

- Service and contribution to the AAKC Organization, including serving as an Officer, Chairperson, or committee member.
- Contributions to their profession
- Contributions to their community or municipal government
- Professional development/education/training
- Essay summary of why the nominee should receive the award.

# Nomination Form Please complete the form below for the nominee

Name: Jurisdiction:		Current Position:  Nominee Address:	
	Nominee has served and/or contributed to the A member or on special projects. (Please name the	AKC organization as an officer, chairperson, committee position(s)):	
	Nominee has contributed to their profession and associations, past and current):	or other professional associations. (Please specify	
	Nominee has contributed to their community or they have contributed)	municipal government. (Please describe in what way(s)	
		ofessional development, which may include CMA, CPS, ars or conferences, college work or classes in the related d or completed)	
	the person as a nominee for the AAKC Nancy Cra	y the foregoing information to be true and correct as I in Municipal Administrative Professional of the Year	
Nominator Signature:		Date:	
Position & Jurisdiction:		Phone:	